The Ghost of Playgrounds Past

Funny how a photograph can catapult us back in time, help us see how far we have come, how much we have learned.

This is a photo of Lyne Park Playground in Rose Bay, Sydney.  I took it recently, but look at it today and the years fall away.  This playground has been the scene of many emotions in my family’s journey:

Relief

We had moved from Karachi, Pakistan to Sydney in 1998.  Going from being a young, free and single TV producer in Glasgow to a  mother of one living with guards behind barbed wire fences in Karachi had been gruelling.  So had motherhood itself and learning to live with a partner. And there were few outdoors places to go with a baby.

To be in Sydney and free to wander, with fantastic outdoor spaces was joyful.

Confusion

Why were so many kids sitting on their mothers knees, showing their mothers things and crying and running to mum when they hurt themselves?  Jeez, loads of those children are so wimpy.

Look at my little lad, he’s up and down that play equipment like a yoyo and he never cries or whinges for me.

Actually, that is odd, isn’t it.  I don’t think he finds me very interesting. (Ouch, it took almost 18 more motnhs for him to diagnosed as having autism spectrum disorder.  Ouch, ouch, ouch.)

Distress

After that diagnosis, I would sit in Lyne Park sometimes and cry, watching my son playing by himself, climbing, crawling, banging, leaping.  Other three years olds were playing side by side, or chasing, running, they were talking.

Talking!  Playing!  Proper playing; so that’s what it looks like. Would my son ever talk?  Would he ever have a friend?  What would our life be like?

Relief again

Ten years on and I know the answers to those questions were yes, yes and blessed.  I wish I could wrap my past self up a huge warm blanket and to tell her that it will all work out OK.  Not perfect, not even really normal, but fine, blessed, all right.

I laugh when I hear people say they don’t like playgrounds.  My son was so very hyperactive, it was so good for him to go to them, and I was so grateful to be in a safe, clean outdoor space with him.  I had to learn to love playgrounds, so I did.  OK, I think I may have become a bit obsessed in fact but you’ll forgive me for that.

 

Where’s your favourite outdoor space?  Do you like the places your kids love

 

 

Leave a comment